Super Bowl LIV is still 12 days away, but initial lines and props are already starting to trickle out that will be bet on early and often. One of those early props already open at books is who will win the Super Bowl MVP Award.

The Chiefs are currently a slight favorite in Super Bowl odds, so it’s not surprising that Patrick Mahomes is the favorite to take the award home this season. 

Game, Total and Props

In the Super Bowl’s 53-year history, 46 different players have been named MVP of the game. The first edge you can gain on who will win the award is an obvious one…picking a player from the winning team. Just once over those 53 years has a player won the MVP award while on the losing team, with the exception being Cowboys linebacker Chuck Howley back in 1971. Whichever team you’re backing in the game should be where your support for MVP is going.

Just like the regular-season award, the position with the chalkiest odds to win the award for the big game are the quarterbacks. The award has gone to a quarterback 29 times. Over the past 10 years, quarterbacks have taken home the award seven times, but in just three of the past six years as Julian Edelman, Von Miller, and Malcolm Smith have won the award over that span. Because of the position, Jimmy Garoppolo is the player behind Mahomes in books in odds. 

Staying on the offensive side of the ball is where you want to be if moving away from a signal-caller. An offensive player has won the award 43 times. You also want to focus on touchdown equity offensively. Just two offensive players — Edelman last year and Deion Branch in 2005 — have won the award without a touchdown in the game. 

Wide receivers and running backs have each won the award seven times, but have moved in opposite directions in the frequency of taking home the hardware. The last running back to win the award was Terrell Davis back in 1998. Since that season, four wide receivers have won the award with Edelman a year ago being the first wideout to win since Santonio Holmes in 2009. Technically Desmond Howard’s position was wide receiver, but he was not included in the totals since he won the award as a return man in 1997. 

No tight end has ever won the award, but if there was ever a year for a tight end to break that seal, this is it. George Kittle (+1600) is fourth in odds while Travis Kelce (+2000) is sixth as they enter the game as the two best players in the league at their position. 

Defensive players have taken home the award 10 times and four times over the past 20 seasons. If shopping at a specific position, linebackers lead the way with four wins, followed by defensive ends and safeties with two each and one defensive tackle and one cornerback. If backing a defensive player, the good news is that you don’t have to chase the randomness of a defensive touchdown. Just one of those 10 defensive players has scored a touchdown. The bad news is that you still likely need that player to have created some turnover in the game and most likely multiple ones. Ray Lewis in 2001 is the only defensive player to win the award without forcing or recovering a fumble or having an interception since 1978.   

Shop around for the best odds on the MVP Award, but as a starting block of seeing where players are ranked, here are the current MVP odds from DraftKings.

Top Super Bowl 54 MVP Odds

  • Patrick Mahomes: +115
  • Jimmy Garoppolo: +225
  • Raheem Mostert: +900
  • George Kittle +1600
  • Tyreke Hill: +2000
  • Travis Kelce: +2000
  • Damien Williams: +2500
  • Nick Bosa: +2500
  • Deebo Samuel: +3300
  • Sammy Watkins: +4500
  • Emmanuel Sanders: +4500
  • Tyrann Mathieu: +6000
  • Tevin Coleman: +6000
  • Frank Clark: +8000
  • Mecole Hardman: +8000
  • LeSean McCoy: +8000
  • Richard Sherman: +8000
  • Dee Ford +8500
  • Chris Jones +9000
  • DeForest Buckner +10000
  • Arik Armstead +12500
  • Matt Breida +12500
  • Fred Warner +12500